Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: which vehicles to get?  (Read 18449 times)

mab

• Joined Mar 2009
  • carmarthenshire
which vehicles to get?
« on: April 25, 2012, 12:00:12 am »
I need to get a/some new vehicles now that I've got a real smallholding but I'm having trouble deciding what. I could use some other peoples thoughts. Bear in mind I'm on a limited budget and low running costs are required. Also bear in mind I'm quite new to running a holding of this size and have a rather vague idea what I'll need.

For on road:-
I currently have an Astra estate 1.7 diesel - nice & economical and OK for work and general road use.

Occasionally I'm going to need to tow a decent sized livestock trailer (also need a livestock trailer); and as I'm in the Welsh hills, 4x4 would be useful in the winter. Was thinking my options are:
1. stick with astra, get snow chains, and a trailer that is within the 1400Kg towing limit.
2. Get an old landy (Tax exempt) with restricted mileage insurance (so annual running costs are low) and use only when needed (have previous experience of keeping these).
3. Trade in astra for newer 4x4 , but then I have to buy fuel for gas-guzzler all year round.

no. 2 is my favorite ATM but that may be  'cos I want an excuse to get a S2A landy.  ;D

For work around the holding:-
would like something for general lugging stuff around (an on-road 4x4 could do this in some places).
Ideally could do with something I can attach a topper/flail  to for pasture maintenance and overgrown land clearance (and poss.a post-hole borer).
As the land is steep (and boggy at the bottom) I would need 4x4 and very stable - are miniature tractors any more/less stable than full-size?

My feeling is that a miniature tractor would be best as the limited amount of land that's not too steep to drive on would limit the usefulness of a full-size.