Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Newborn Lamb Died  (Read 14944 times)

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
Newborn Lamb Died
« on: March 27, 2011, 09:55:45 pm »
What went wrong?

2nd lamb of twins born (much larger than first), came out and landed on it's back, head to one side (practically underneath it's side), no movement, we wiped it's nose, nothing, did the straw up nose to clear, then 'swung'. The lamb took a couple of breaths then died.

I'm not looking for kind words here, if I did wrong I need to be told so I don't make the same mistake again.

Will update you on progress of 1st lamb tomorrow.
« Last Edit: March 27, 2011, 10:04:07 pm by OhLaLa »

andywalt

• Joined Aug 2010
  • kent
  • observe react administer enjoy !!
    • photos
Re: Newborn Lamb Died
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2011, 10:02:55 pm »
Somtimes this just happens, Im not an expert as you know but sometimes nothing works and the life slips away, we had one lamb from a set of twins it stopped breathing 3 times in 4 minutes, we would swing it, rub it, thena few minutes later it had stopped !!! so we repeated and started breathing, this happened 3 times, it did have alot of gunk coming up from the lungs, maybe it was that blocking the airway? hard to say, we were v lucky that time but sometimes we are not so lucky, dont beat your self up !!
Suffolk x romneys and Texel X with Romney Tup, Shetlands and Southdown Tup

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2011, 10:06:43 pm »
Yeah, I'm really upset about this, especially as it took a few breaths.

Wish I knew if I did the right thing.

andywalt

• Joined Aug 2010
  • kent
  • observe react administer enjoy !!
    • photos
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2011, 10:22:28 pm »
You have done nothing wrong from my opinion !!
Suffolk x romneys and Texel X with Romney Tup, Shetlands and Southdown Tup

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook