Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Easy Care Sheep  (Read 34694 times)

Fraggle422

• Joined Dec 2008
Easy Care Sheep
« on: December 29, 2008, 11:32:15 am »
Hi
I am new to TAS and joined because I am thinking about getting a couple of sheep to keep the grass down instead of using machinery.
We are down in the Isles of Scilly and have a couple of acres of rough pasture, I was looking at various breeds and came across the Easy Care name, but have not found any mention of it on the site. Does anyone have experience of this breed and just how 'easy' are they to care for?
Thanks
Chris

kanisha

• Joined Dec 2007
    • Spered Breizh Ouessants
    • Facebook
Re: Easy Care Sheep
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2008, 12:43:34 pm »
Hi, I hope you don't mind me posting . I have tried in the past to find out about sheep on the isles of scilly without much success. I keep ouessant sheep or ushant sheep if you prefer; The island on the opposite side of the chanel to you was reknowned for its hardy breed of sheep and I always wondered if there was a connection via the scillies as its more than likely this breed came to ouessant via the south of england and cornish trading links with the bretons? If you could get some of these on the island they would be well suited to the situation and ideal  as ecofriendly grasscutters;
Ravelry Group: - Ouessants & Company

Fraggle422

• Joined Dec 2008
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2008, 09:17:04 pm »
Thats interesting thanks, these islands are not really noted for sheep at all as far as I am aware, I will certainly take a look at the ushants, but it looks to me as though they would need shearing which would be a tad difficult here I think.
Cheers! :sheep:
« Last Edit: December 29, 2008, 09:20:45 pm by Fraggle422 »

kanisha

• Joined Dec 2007
    • Facebook
« Reply #3 on: December 30, 2008, 03:45:57 am »
shearing can be done by hand with hand shears or a standard pair of dog clippers  a lot less sheep to shear than most! ;D