Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Potato peelings????  (Read 31792 times)

paulsou

• Joined May 2009
Potato peelings????
« on: June 08, 2009, 01:40:40 pm »
I am new to pig keeping but could you tell me if i can feed potato peelings to pigs in addition to their food?

ukag0972

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Argyll
Re: Potato peelings????
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2009, 02:47:53 pm »
You are legally not allowed to feed pigs, or chickens, any food that has been passed through a kitchen!!

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2009, 02:52:47 pm »
I have never heard so much crap, what reason do our leaders give for this piece of nonsense? :dunce:

kingnigel

• Joined May 2009
  • Gainsborough
  • www.zabalaz.co.uk
    • Zabalaz Siberian Huskies
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2009, 03:45:26 pm »
You are legally not allowed to feed pigs, or chickens, any food that has been passed through a kitchen!!

is this true?
does anyone have a link to a .gov site that states this
thanks kn

kingnigel

• Joined May 2009
  • Gainsborough
  • www.zabalaz.co.uk
    • Zabalaz Siberian Huskies
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2009, 04:08:09 pm »

dixie

• Joined Mar 2009
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2009, 04:15:49 pm »
I am new to pig keeping but could you tell me if i can feed potato peelings to pigs in addition to their food?
if you grow your own or buy from non meat supplier (greengrocer) peel and cook the potatoes outside then you can!!

paulsou

• Joined May 2009
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2009, 04:47:47 pm »
As i said i am new to pigs & regarding food from the kitchen i thought it was a case of nothing from catering establishments but what about uncooked veg & peelings from my own kitchen at home???? Is this a no no as well??? someone mentioned it was ok to give peelings but they would need to be boiled i just dont know!! defra dont seem to make it clear!

MrRee

• Joined Jan 2008