Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Food from the early days !!  (Read 10000 times)

happygolucky

• Joined Jan 2012
Food from the early days !!
« on: November 18, 2012, 06:58:35 pm »
After buying some Angle Delight I remembered how much I loved it and it got me thinking, when I first got married in the 70's although I was a reasonable cook, things that I cooked were very simple, I am not sure if I even saw or used peppers in my cooking then, or even ate pasta!!! my weekly food would be similar each week, the good old Sunday roast, then stuff like stews, cottage pies, chops and I did not use instant stuff at all...I had a baking day where I made pies, tarts and cake, then.veg would be front he markets also the meat and the bread delivered by the bread man, stuff you cut yourself.   How different things are now!!. Veg from all over the world all year round, same with meat and fish and so many food programmes and internet help......I am amazed at how many things I cook now that I never even thought about years ago!!!!

RUSTYME

• Joined Oct 2009
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2012, 08:15:21 pm »
Yes Sandy , lots of choice these days . I grew up eating peppers in spag bol and chow fan , and even grew them outside on my veggie plot in the late 60's from seed saved from the peppers we used to eat .
Sadly there are many chemicals on and in food these days .
Pesticides , herbicides , gm , plastics and chems to stop food from going off , anti bacs and hormones in meat etc , it is a nightmare .
Then you hit prepared food ! Bugger me , safer to eat rat poison !
Angels delight , i hate to think what was in that , but i liked it , a bit sickly for me now i think ? . 
I tend to eat only eat home grown veg , when poss , and as little meat as poss . I can't afford real meat ie chops etc , just sausages mince etc and who knows wtf the put in that or where it comes from  ?.