Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Possible Future Goat Newbie  (Read 5726 times)

cheryl

• Joined Mar 2011
  • Essex
Possible Future Goat Newbie
« on: May 21, 2012, 12:16:54 am »
Um... yeah. I'm not good at titles.

Anyway, I kept pigs for the first time this year, and they'll be going at the end of the month. I've had great fun with them, and will definitely be raising pigs again next year, but I've been turning my mind to goats recently.

I'm not completely sure they're for me, they sound a little complicated with disbudding and escaping and milking (the part I'd be particularly interested in, but it looks tricky!).

The thing is, I've had a bit of a tough time not getting too attached to the pigs, so while I will be getting pigs again next year, I'd also like to look into raising an animal that's not ultimately destined for the freezer, something if it ok to get a little attached to, if that doesn't sound too terribly girlie!

I'm still in the very (very very!) early stages of reading up and trying to decide if goats are for me, but I wanted to get some opinions/advice. Are they difficult to raise? How bad are they for escaping - would a proper fence with maybe some electric wire be enough to hold them, realistically? Also, is milking as tricky/scary as it looks? And are all kids disbudded? (I've seen a few threads on here about it causing problems)

I realise a lot of this information is out there on the net, but there seems to be so much conflicting information!

Anyway, thanks for reading my ramblings, I'd appreciate any input  :)

Penninehillbilly

• Joined Sep 2011
  • West Yorks
Re: Possible Future Goat Newbie
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2012, 12:57:12 am »
Hi Cheryl