Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Losing my nerve  (Read 11843 times)

melholly

• Joined Oct 2010
  • East Sussex
    • My Blog
Losing my nerve
« on: April 10, 2012, 08:48:41 am »
Morning all,

Well I'm feeling out my depth and losing my confidence here with lambing about to happen. I've only got 1 (maybe 2) Polled Dorsets expecting and they've lambed before but it's my first time!

I'm all set up, planning on it all being natural outside (based in the SE) but have the barn set up just in case. Due dates are officially next week. Honestly though, I'm dreading it and feel very inexperienced and therefore at a detriment to the sheep instead of being an assistance.

It all happened this morning, after one of the worst nights weather this year I arrived to find 'Dolly' on her back, bleating away, shaking uncontrollably and in a filthy state from her back end etc. I feared the worst, was cursing fate that my 4 year old happened to see her like that (her favourite sheep) After ringing local farmer (such a help) I went back, pulled her over and she got up, v scared - she went back down 4 more times but she's had food and was left having joined other Mum Dors and standing up. Now aside from feeling a) stupid (nobody told me sheep can get stuck on their backs!) and b) a bit set back from the whole experience what was interesting was whilst on her back I saw Dolly's teats were slightly raised  - about 1-2 inches. She's also wider than Dors. The reason I find this interesting is I'd assumed Dolly hadn't got in lamb as around 3/4 weeks ago Dors started to get a big milk sac and bigger teats which is clear to see from looking at her from behind whilst nothing of Dolly's has appeared to drop down, even accounting for her being caught by the ram in her next cycle. But looking at her on her back and looking at her width I now completely and utterly don't know and am feeling even more out of my depth! Is she or isn't she?!!

Mx