Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Golden Guernseys  (Read 12759 times)

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Golden Guernseys
« on: March 28, 2011, 06:03:23 pm »
Hi Everyone.  I have kept sheep for about 16 years and I am just beginning to contemplate whether a couple of goats would fit in.  Being into rare breeds, my goat of choice would be the golden guernsey.  Does anyone here keep them?
Looking at past messages, I see that some of you keep your goats and sheep together without major issues.  I had heard that it was not a good idea, but lots of old farmers tales abound which I disagree with so I am happy to give the mixed grazing a go.
My main concern is that from the books - no, from Katie Thear's general livestock book - it look as if goats eat a vast amount and need special housing - she quotes 2lbs of concentrates a day plus browsing before they are even in milk.  Our sheep live outside all year and whilst I would be prepared to provide goats with a warm, dry and draught-free house, I would prefer them to be outside most of the time.  Is this appropriate or am I better to steer clear of goats?
"Let's not talk about what we can do, but do what we can"

There is NO planet B - what are YOU doing to save our home?

Do something today that your future self will thank you for - plant a tree

Love your soil - it's the lifeblood of your land.

goosepimple

• Joined May 2010
  • nr Lauder, Scottish Borders
Re: Golden Guernseys
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 06:34:20 pm »