Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Traumatized - castration?  (Read 13248 times)

frustratedfarmer

• Joined Mar 2011
  • East Lothian
Traumatized - castration?
« on: March 22, 2011, 08:43:40 pm »
 :'(
I wanted to see how castration worked with the little ring things- I have no experience of this as you can see.. looked on Youtube and a video showed a fully awake goat kid have it's scrotum cut, the testicle pulled out..cut..then I couldn't watch anymore. PLEASE tell me if I end up with male goats this is not what I will have to do?? It MUST have hurt??  :( :(
Are there any videos showing how it's done using the rings?

Claire

Anke

• Joined Dec 2009
  • St Boswells, Scottish Borders
Re: Traumatized - castration?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 09:04:10 pm »
You can either castrate with rubber rings within the first week of life, or it can be done by the vet later in life, but I am not sure if the billy smell will go with the balls...

Also if you are talking pygmies I would imagine that everything is pygmy-sized so you may struggle to fit a ring to a very young billy kid.

It is done the same way as for lambs, if you have a friendly sheep farmer nearby you might be able to go and watch/learn. It is something that comes with practice, and yes it is quite painful for the little fellow. My lambs are usually up and suckling again within the hour, and it is somehting that I do out of necessity, also to my male goat kids. If the kid is being disbudded then it is easy for the vet to slip on the ring while the kid is under anaesthetic.

frustratedfarmer

• Joined Mar 2011
  • East Lothian
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 09:09:22 pm »
So this video wasn't showing the norm? The kid apparently hadn't had any anaesthetic- seemed barbaric  :(

Thanks for that info  :)

Mays

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2011, 09:18:05 pm »