Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ducks!  (Read 3481 times)

loosey

• Joined May 2010
  • Cornwall
Ducks!
« on: July 21, 2010, 09:03:51 am »
 :&> :&>

When I was young my grandad bred and showed ducks and chickens and also reared them for meat.

We weren't planning on getting any ducks until next year but at an auction this weekend, we picked up two big duck houses for £12!!

I want indian runners and have always like the orpington ducks. Does anyone have experience with a good utility breed that would provide us with good eggs and a good carcass for the table? We're still open to suggestions! :-\

Also, what have you all done about ponds? Have you dug out and created proper ponds or used old childrens sand pits etc?

Lastly, will I need to clip their wings? I presume I would? I have had little experience with ducks since I was 8 and used to put talcum powder in their feathers for Grandad before the County Show! I think some research is in order! ;D

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
Re: Ducks!
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 11:12:52 am »
I have some Alysburys,i use a pond liner semi dug into ground but i do have to empty it every week as they make such a mess in it,they have not had there wings clipped they only flap about never tryed to fly out of there pen.

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 12:22:51 pm »
None of my ducks have their wings clipped and they enjoy a free range life. They spend most of the day on the river that goes along side my land, this is a wide stretch of tital water and they love it. If they are happy and looked after where they are they shouldn't take off, I aslo have 5 geese and none of them are cliped either. They all go for miles down the river and always come back home. I think its good that they have the chance to fly if they are threatened.

loosey

• Joined May 2010
  • Cornwall
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2010, 12:58:07 pm »