Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: An acre attached to rear garden purchased 11 years ago from farmer  (Read 7284 times)

Chris L

• Joined Oct 2016
Hi there, a would be 'good life' person who lives off my land. I stuck (a bargain buy) very mobile static for 60+year old hubby and I to use when up the land for tools, gardening, resting, snoozing, a cuppa, toilet, clean up etc. I've kept family in fruit, veg and flowers for 11 years with a polytunnel which extends growing season. Anyway, I have a letter from Planning Dept giving me 28 days to remove van and they'll not support an application to site the van. I have no experience of dealing with these guys... how should I approach them. I don't believe I require Planning Permission because it's a mobile performing a temporary use/storage. Do they have power to shift, will they, what will it cost me etc. etc.? From a, now very nervous, good life person...

devonlady

• Joined Aug 2014
Re: An acre attached to rear garden purchased 11 years ago from farmer
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2016, 06:39:14 pm »
I'm sorry I can't help with advice but I just wanted to sympathise and offer support. The local authorities can be very cruel. For Heaven sake, what harm are you doing and what adverse effect are you having on the environment?
I would fight this order, but in a nice, polite way.
Ask people who have been in this situation what they have done and, maybe look into the in's and out's of having the static on the land for so long!
Good luck!

Chris L

• Joined Oct 2016
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2016, 09:25:52 pm »
Thank you for that feed back, very good advice. I agree that it's better to try and work with Officials as far as possible.

Lesley Silvester

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Telford
« Reply #3 on: October 28, 2016, 11:52:37 pm »