Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Store Lambs  (Read 3121 times)

Cuddles

• Joined Feb 2014
Store Lambs
« on: September 28, 2016, 03:27:20 pm »
Hi All,

I'm looking for some advice on store lambs.  I've got about 10acres of pasture that, while it isn't the best quality grass, is way more than my wee flock of 6 ewes can keep up with.  I've been topping the some of fields this year but I'm sure I could be putting them to better/more productive use.  I'm still a relative novice (first lambing next year hopefully) so ramping up the breeding flock just now feels like I would be running before I could walk...

So ...   I was thinking about buying in some commercial type lambs early next spring/summer and then selling them on once they had fattened up later in the year.  Has anyone here had good/bad experiences doing this type of thing?  I was also going to go onto the There are other options, rent out the pasture or get someone in to bale it up for silage (how long does a bale last once its been opened?) but store lambs seems to be my preferred option for now. 
(It might even mean I dont spend as much on wormers etc per dose.)

Who would buy the lambs and what disease\pathogens I might be introducing onto my land are probably topics for another thread :D

Anyway... all opinions welcome...

Cuddles

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: Store Lambs
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2016, 08:10:58 pm »
As you mention, what else you're buying in with store lambs is a worry.   When they go they could leave behind resistant worms, fluke, etc., even if they've had no actual contact with your ewes.  I'd be inclined to get it made into small hay bales, which will last, be easy to handle and give you aftermath grazing ready for the Autumn.

waterbuffalofarmer

• Joined Apr 2014
  • Mid Wales
  • Owner of 61 Mediterranean water buffaloes
« Reply #2 on: September 28, 2016, 08:13:33 pm »