Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Yoghurt has a strong yeasty savory smell to it instead of a nice sour  (Read 5071 times)

farmers wife

• Joined Jul 2009
  • SE Wales
Im having some hit and misses with yoghurt making with my raw milk.  Ive sorted out the lumpy problem.  I'm using heirloom but even from the first batch there is a strong overly yeasty savory smell and taste what is this?  The texture is great but now I need to sort out this problem.  Any ideas?

ladyK

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Conwy Valley
Re: Yoghurt has a strong yeasty savory smell to it instead of a nice sour
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2016, 10:12:13 pm »
I have no experience with raw milk sadly, but I sometimes get a sweet savory smell with my kefir - kind of more like cheese than yoghurt. Usually it happens when I leave it for too long, so I guess it gets 'overripe' in a way?
It's usually just the top layer (so when mixed with the rest of the jar it dissipates anyway). I certainly haven't come to any harm eating it.
Could you try fermenting your yoghurt for a shorter time?
"If one way is better than another, it is the way of nature." (Aristotle)

farmers wife

• Joined Jul 2009
  • SE Wales
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2016, 10:28:06 pm »
I'm usually pushed for time so do it late in evening meaning its left overnight. 10pm - 7am.  Prev it didnt have this but now its regular.  Smells a bit like toast but not unpleasant to taste.  Puts the children off.

cloddopper

• Joined Jun 2013
  • South Wales .Carmarthenshire. SA18
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2016, 09:41:23 pm »
If you have a plug in timer power socket  perhaps  try using that and only cook for the specified time . Setting it up so the end time coincides with breakfast time maybe.
Strong belief , triggers the mind to find the way ... Dyslexia just makes it that bit more amusing & interesting

farmers wife

• Joined Jul 2009
  • SE Wales
« Reply #4 on: February 25, 2016, 10:27:05 pm »