Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Getting started with sheep  (Read 3161 times)

Farmer Pete

• Joined Apr 2010
Getting started with sheep
« on: April 03, 2010, 09:07:44 pm »
Hi all,
I'm just getting started with a 2 acre plot and I have been farming pigs purely for eating for about 6 months now.
I feel ready for sheep.
Pop down to the local livestock market, buy 6 (cos many die apparently), leave them to chew my grass and then hey presto - lovely lamb.
Right or wrong?
Pigs are a doddle and sheep can't be that difficult can they?

any advice greatly appreciated :farmer:

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: Getting started with sheep
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2010, 09:10:00 pm »
 ;D ;D ;D ;D

Farmer Pete

• Joined Apr 2010
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2010, 09:13:52 pm »
now those funny faces make me nervous - what do you mean? it's not fair to not have nay words !!

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #3 on: April 03, 2010, 09:28:04 pm »
Sorry, FP. I suppose if you buy a few store lambs and fatten them, it will be relatively straightforward. You probably won't get store lambs until later in the summer though. At least you'll miss the flies and maggots and won't have to bother with shearing, or foot trimming, or worming probably or the various preventaive vaccinations required.

I love my sheep but they are a lot more work that fattening weaner pigs. Seriously, don't let me put you off - but do have a read through the threads on the sheep section of the forum.

CameronS

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North East Fife
« Reply #4 on: April 03, 2010, 09:29:24 pm »
i have recently started with sheep, i have 3 2month old orphan lambs, my ones will be eaten as soon as they reach a suitable age and size. If you intend to eat the sheep then they will need supplement feeding hay, pellets etc.