Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: broad beans seed  (Read 3937 times)

cloddopper

• Joined Jun 2013
  • South Wales .Carmarthenshire. SA18
broad beans seed
« on: August 11, 2015, 11:17:41 pm »
I've been growing my own broad beans from my own seed for several years .

This year has given me a prolific crop over 2.6  kg of beans from only 8 plants .

Tonight I've pressure canned/ preserved 10 x 125 g " Weck" jars of them .
This is a years supply , for I'm the only one who eats them in this house.

I'm going to dry the rest for seed and use some for sowing in early Nov for a strong crop next year .  There will be far to many for me , so if any of you would like a dozen or so seeds in about six weeks drop me a PM with your real name 7 address.
Dave

Strong belief , triggers the mind to find the way ... Dyslexia just makes it that bit more amusing & interesting

Calvadnack

• Joined Jun 2009
Re: broad beans seed
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2015, 05:00:26 pm »
Which variety do you grow?  I have terrible problems with chocolate spot so am always looking for heavy croppers so that I can spread out fewer, more productive plants.

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2015, 12:22:41 am »
A friend gave me some seed this year, so just shoved them in and left them to get on with it not really thinking about whether I'd eat them or not. They're just about the only prolific thing in my garden and I tried a boiling. Disgusting things so they're for the chickens now.
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

cloddopper

• Joined Jun 2013
« Reply #3 on: August 25, 2015, 12:37:54 am »
Which variety do you grow?  I have terrible problems with chocolate spot so am always looking for heavy croppers so that I can spread out fewer, more productive plants.