Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: lamb with funny tongue  (Read 2805 times)

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
lamb with funny tongue
« on: March 11, 2010, 08:03:56 pm »
I have a ewe lamb - now 6 days old           the background is that I'm a novice and she was lambed by the vet - from a gimmer - her feet were forward but her head was 'stuck' with tongue protruding and a little swollen and the vet managed to pull her out (he did say the ewe was very tight - and she was very vocal when he was pulling the lamb out!)  she didn't breathe immediately - maybe 15 seconds to start      the lamb is obviously feeding as she's still here at 6 days, but she's not 'strong' and I noticed that she often has a small part of her tongue sticking out of the front of her mouth (just a little bit) and sometimes its like she's licking her nose a bit   (no slavering or dribbling tho)

anyone have experience of this?     could it be something temporary related to her being born?   

don't suppose there's much I can do but was just wondering if anyone can give me the benefit of their experience

thanks

Canadian Sheepfarmer

• Joined Nov 2009
  • Manitoba, Canada.
Re: lamb with funny tongue
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2010, 02:47:33 pm »
I have seen this a few times, nothing to worry about in my experience, it is just a result of a hard pull. It will grow out of it in time probably when it starts grazing.

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2010, 07:11:06 pm »
Hi CanadianSheepFarmer

great to get your reassuring reply - many thanks

as the weather was good today and the lamb is a week old she was let outside with her mum for the first time     she seemed fine and was nibbling at the grass      hopefully all will be well - she's a smart little lamb

jembo

• Joined Feb 2010
« Reply #3 on: March 12, 2010, 09:04:16 pm »
Arnica for both the ewe and lamb will work wonders.

countrygirlatheart

• Joined Apr 2008