Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: New Keeper  (Read 4418 times)

chloesgrandad

• Joined Feb 2010
  • Whitley Bay
New Keeper
« on: February 25, 2010, 11:37:48 am »
Hi everyone, I'm new to this hobby of chicken keeping and would like any advice or suggestion's that may come along. I am getting 5 exbats at the end of March and would like to know what is best to feed them on? Some site's say that layer's pellet's are OK, and some say layer's crumb is best, because that is what they have been used to, and I would like to know what the difference is. The hen's will have the run of about a 1/3 of the garden and I suppose they will find plenty to supplement their diet if I don't get it right first time. Looking forward to reading your replies. Thank you.

Wizard

• Joined Nov 2009
  • North East Lincolnshire
Re: New Keeper
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2010, 11:55:30 am »
Hello grandad If they are free range fed them oat they will eat they like wheat a lot any of the proprietary foods and mash and greens  any thing they are no particular and I have never heard of a poisoned one Unlike some stupid things  ;D :farmer:
Don't do today what can be put off until tomorrow because today will be yesterday tomorrow

DJ_Chook

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Mid Wales
  • Chicken mad, nothing else just chickens.
« Reply #2 on: February 25, 2010, 12:01:00 pm »

Exbatts will be used mash. I've had exbatts/excommercials and I always offer them both crumbs and pellets, they ignore the pellets but eventually their curiosity kicks in and they start eating the pellets after a few days/weeks. I then start mixing crumbs with pellets in their feeders, steadily increasing the proportion of pellets in it.

http://www.smallholderfeed.co.uk/Products/ExBattery/Ex-Battery-Hens.aspx

I buy them a bag of these crumbs. They are usually on the pellets by the time it runs out.Feed adlib, leave the feeders in there all day for them. They don't need food or water overnight in their coop.