Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: overdue heifer  (Read 4926 times)

trish.farm

• Joined Feb 2014
  • hampshire
overdue heifer
« on: May 20, 2015, 09:44:30 am »
going by AI date from last year, my heifer was due 20 days ago!  Very small bag, teats not engorged. udder looks like small boobs!!  Muscles around tail bone not relaxed.  She wasn't PD'd last year but AI man checked her when he came back to AI another cow and said she had taken.  Should I be worried that she has gone 20 days over?

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
Re: overdue heifer
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2015, 04:44:56 pm »
I would be - but then I'm not very experienced and a worrier by nature. I'd have the vet out for a look - or at least a phone call for advice.

fsmnutter

• Joined Oct 2012
  • Fettercairn, Aberdeenshire
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2015, 04:59:28 pm »
Is there any chance she could have been AI'd again at a later bulling, or even naturally bulled (including by a young bull calf?) as 20 days would sound to me far too long to be overdue without showing any signs of nearing calving.
I would get your vet out to do a quick PD, as if that far in calf it should be straightforward to tell if she's due and taken later, but they can lose calves later in pregnancy so perhaps she lost it after the AI man has checked her for you.

trish.farm

• Joined Feb 2014
  • hampshire
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2015, 07:43:32 pm »
thanks, yep going to ring vet tomorrow for some advice!  She was definitely only AI'd once and no chance of being anywhere near a bull.  So frustrating!!

Cowgirl

• Joined Aug 2013
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2015, 09:06:36 am »
We had a cow go 10 days over but I think much more than that would be unlikely. Vets are not infallible - we were told our old cow wasn't in calf and look what arrived!

Cowgirl

• Joined Aug 2013
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2015, 09:10:14 am »