Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Help with Soay Sheep  (Read 2940 times)

coombsey

• Joined Apr 2015
Help with Soay Sheep
« on: April 28, 2015, 02:07:22 pm »
Hello all, Just taken on a small holding with some Soay sheep. 3 Ewes have all just lambed but one of the lambs seems to just lay down away from the mum. The mum keeps calling for it as she walks around the field. The Lamb was born on Sunday and has been feeding. Just concerned as the mum seems to be getting distressed. 

princesslayer

• Joined Jan 2013
  • Tadley, Hants
Re: Help with Soay Sheep
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2015, 08:21:49 pm »
I'm a newbie too, but I can say that a couple of our ewes did have a week or so of crazy calling and baaing for no apparent reason. Have you seen the lamb feeding frequently? Whereabouts are you?
Keeper of Jacob sheep, several hens, Michael the Cockerel and some small children.

coombsey

• Joined Apr 2015
« Reply #2 on: April 28, 2015, 09:27:16 pm »
Thank you for the reply, we are in Dorset. We have seen the Lamb feed but he then goes and lays down on his own whilst the mother walks round calling him. Have watched him tonight and he has stayed with mum so hopefully will sort itself out.   

ladyK

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Conwy Valley
« Reply #3 on: April 28, 2015, 09:52:36 pm »
How old are you lambs?
I've seen this happen a few times with my Soays, the mum walks off grazing, lamb dozes off, and when she realises she's walked on a bit and calls and there is no immediate response from dozing lamb she can go a bit crazy. If she looks after her lamb otherwise, if she is walking around with it at other times then probably all is OK.
"If one way is better than another, it is the way of nature." (Aristotle)

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2015, 11:34:54 pm »