Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Planting, new to it  (Read 3800 times)

amy-shaw

• Joined May 2009
Planting, new to it
« on: February 10, 2010, 11:21:46 am »
Hello, I am new to growing vegetables. I am thinking of doing Peppers, Carrots, Tomato's, Sweetcorn and potatoes. Is there anything that I need to know except the potato and tomato thing. The peppers are just a hobby which I am interested in.
When should I start planting these?

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
Re: Planting, new to it
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2010, 01:55:01 pm »
Depends where you are.  I'm in Central Scotland and sweetcorn last year was a disaster.  Grew some peppers in my conservatory and they weren't much better.  Carrots and tatties I can do ;D ;D
Always have been, always will be, a WYSIWYG - black is black, white is white - no grey in my life! But I'm mellowing in my old age

dizzy1pig

• Joined Jan 2010
  • Leuchars, Fife
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2010, 10:07:26 pm »
every where is different..i can not grow carrots have tried for 5 years and now given up..
no much good when you have big veg plot to maintain. peppers ok in with toms. tatties dead simple even in bucket and then you can chuck them in shed and have new ones at xmas.. grew sweetcorn for 2 years needs to be block planted to get results and needs good weather

pottsie

• Joined Jan 2010
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2010, 11:11:44 am »
Hi i'm using old dumpy sacks down one side of my veg patch, great for potatoes but just been told by a local experienced gardener he couldn't get carrots this year because of the carrot flt. Because the dumpy sacks are more than 18" above ground i have had no probs and still pulling them, infact got so many my recently poorly goats are relly getting happy.

Rob ;D.

sagehen

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Warwickshire
« Reply #4 on: February 11, 2010, 12:28:25 pm »