Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Ducklings - hopefully  (Read 6737 times)

Lavinia

• Joined Nov 2009
  • Midlothian
Ducklings - hopefully
« on: January 13, 2010, 06:34:11 pm »
For those who haven't heard me go on and on about my wonderful joint present for my Birthday / Christmas from my wonderful son. I received a incubator and 18 duck eggs.  On first candling at 10 days 3 where infertile, at second candling i found another that i wasn't sure about the first time around. 14 eggs due to hatch tomorrow, and as its my first time I'm excited, scared etc etc... OH Joe and i have had a look this morning and there where 3 with external pipping, there is now 10 at our last check. These are the ones on the two outside rows we can't get a great look at the 4 in the middle as there are below the hood/heater that runs the incubator.  How long will it take, should i have them tomorrow or will it go on to the end of the week.  Any advice would be great.........  got the brooder set up and ready. The instructions that have came with the incubator says that once they start hatching that i should only open it every 6 hours???

:&> :&>
Lavinia

scattybiker1972

• Joined Dec 2009
  • wirral
Re: Ducklings - hopefully
« Reply #1 on: January 13, 2010, 06:38:19 pm »
i think it stops the humidity, thats  built up from escaping  and stops hatching the other eggs.theyl be fine for  a good few hours .does it have a viewing window?i left mine in overnight to dry out properly.theyre still digesting yolk,thats how they can post them!
exciting though isnt it.?
well done .

Lavinia

• Joined Nov 2009
  • Midlothian
« Reply #2 on: January 13, 2010, 09:13:03 pm »
omg soooo excited 1 is half way out... going to have to take some photo's. I have had a house full this evening, couldn't wait to get them all away as now i can just sit and watch it's so amazing. It does have a window, so loads of viewing........ soooo excited, whoops already said that..
Lavinia

marigold