Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: improving grazing with seed. a complete newbie!  (Read 5213 times)

Young Ed

• Joined Apr 2014
improving grazing with seed. a complete newbie!
« on: July 05, 2014, 10:02:22 pm »
ok so imagine i am one of the f'ing townies and can't understand why there are pictures of cows on my milk bottles!

basically i have a field of probably 2 or maybe 2.5 acres with what i think is possibly yorkshire fog grass, now i am led to believe yorkshire fog isn't particularly impressive for grazing according to eblex? i would like to improve this for grazing sheep, how would i go about this considering i want to leave current grass there and just add to it with red clover and maybe some other variety of grass?

would it need harrowing?cultivating? how would i spread the grass seed? by hand or some machine?
Cheers Ed
P.S: we have a tractor if it is any help?

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
Re: improving grazing with seed. a complete newbie!
« Reply #1 on: July 05, 2014, 10:13:48 pm »

We had a similar problem in a two and a bit acre paddock.  We had spoken with a grassland advisor when we saw his stall at the Highland show - probably wouldn't bother with such small fry as us if there'd been any of the big boys asking questions  ::)

He came up with a species rich seed mix, suitable for our primitive sheep (which don't need really rich grazing) which was heavy on white clover and had a variety of better grasses in it.  This we sprinkled by hand in spring - just took a few hours with two of us.  Thinking back, I think we raked it with a tractor towed rake first, which removed the thatch and created some bald bits, plus opened up some scratch marks the seed could fall into.  you could use a disc harrow too. We did it just before it rained, so the seed could be washed into the bare bits, then rolled it.