Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Advice for going Full Time sheep farming  (Read 7526 times)

Big Benny Shep

• Joined Mar 2011
  • Skipton
Advice for going Full Time sheep farming
« on: June 11, 2014, 07:50:42 pm »
Hi  :wave: 
At the moment im running my farm at evenings and weekends (with holidays for lambing) with help from my mum and my best mate.  :sheep:
Ive got about 50 acre of land with about 10 more rented and about 90 breeding sheep. we also have 30(ish) hens and 2 dexter cows with a calf each.
I work full time as a HGV mechanic, but want to make the farm work full time and pay me a wage.

I know I will need to rent more land and get (or make) more sheep but how many on how much land im not sure.

We currently receive RPA which helps alot but what other grants/funding is available? ive tried searching but it seems a bit of a mind field and i was hoping with all the knowlede on here you guys could help.

im sure ive missed putting something  :-\  but i cant think what!

Thanks in advance

p.s. ive already got lottery tickets  :fc:
BIG Ben
We have 80(ish) texels and texel x suffolks, 10 lleyns, 21NE Mules, 2 Dexters with calves, Monty the labrador, Dottie, Bracken and Poppy the collies and 30 assorted hens.

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
Re: Advice for going Full Time sheep farming
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2014, 09:23:52 pm »
maybe get contract work as a shepherd if that is your passion?
or i suppose you need to work out how much net profit per head each sheep makes then see how many you need to get a living wage.

Herdygirl

• Joined Sep 2011
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2014, 09:43:41 pm »