Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pruning plum trees - when?  (Read 20068 times)

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
Pruning plum trees - when?
« on: October 15, 2009, 11:28:21 am »
Hello

I am new to smallholding and we were fortunate enough to gain an orchard with our new home - 70 plum and damson trees.  the house and its land was empty for some time prior to our moving in and the tree's have given us lots of plums but do look quite neglected!

I was wondering if anyone could say when the best time is to prune the tree's as I have received conflicting advice from friends - some say June, others say February. Quite a disparity!

WOuld appreciate any advice

many thanks

Lisa
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

HappyHippy

Re: Pruning plum trees - when?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2009, 12:44:52 pm »
Hiya,
Early spring is the best time to prune, this reduces the chance of silver leaf disease, which plumbs are prone too.
Renovating an old, neglected plum tree should be staged over several years. Aim for a well-balanced tree, keeping the centre of the crown free from shoots to allow good light penetration. Trees respond to larger pruning cuts by sending up a mass of new shoots. Where this happens the shoots will need to be thinned in the summer to leave just one or two. Because they tend to crop so heavily you have to watch out for branches at risk of dropping due to the weight and support if neccessary.

plumseverywhere

• Joined Apr 2013
  • Worcestershire
    • Its Baaath Time
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2009, 01:19:49 pm »
That's brilliant - thanks ever so much happyhippy  :)
Smallholding in Worcestershire, making goats milk soap for www.itsbaaathtime.com and mum to 4 girls,  goats, sheep, chickens, dog, cat and garden snails...

MiriMaran