Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Am i looking after my saddleback pigs ok?  (Read 11351 times)

nat2211

• Joined Oct 2009
  • Somerset
Am i looking after my saddleback pigs ok?
« on: October 08, 2009, 03:35:16 pm »
Hello,

I am new to this site so not sure if my message will make any sense! I am also new to looking after pigs!. I have 6 saddleback pigs who are 11 weeks old. I have been feeding them pig creep until they were 10 weeks old, then moved onto grower pellets. I have been told they need to eat these pellets until they are 16weeks old is this true? ??? I also feed them left over fruit etc twice a day. I am working on the information that they should not have more then 6lbs of food a day? I believe i have 2 males & 4 females, this is only a guess due to certain genital parts!  ;D I really don't want to make myself sound stupid & i hope i haven't, but i have tried to research as much as i can on the internet but keep getting different information all the time! I don't not what to believe. I do not know any local pig farmers otherwise i would have asked for help.
I have lots of questions regarding these 6 pigs, they are very friendly & even allow me to scratch their bellies! But i have noticed their skin is very flaky is this normal? They seem to have quite a few scratches & bites on them from each other, is this because i have 2 males? Also do the females have to be a certain age before they start to mate? Again i apologise for my ignorance, but i am trying to make sure i am looking after them well!!
Any advice would be greatly received!!!!
Natalie  :pig

BillyBerridge

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Nottinghamshire
Re: Am i looking after my saddleback pigs ok?
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2009, 03:54:19 pm »
Hi Nat,

Welcome to the forum.

First thing I would say, is when you say someone has told you no more than 6 pounds of a food a day..  what do you mean by it, now or when they are mature?