Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Starting my own pedigree flock  (Read 13499 times)

JHunter2013

• Joined Apr 2014
Starting my own pedigree flock
« on: April 19, 2014, 07:06:55 pm »
Hiya! My husband and I are looking to start our own small scale pedigree flock. We've got 14 acres near Dumfries and barns. I'm a vet as well and have a lot of sheep experience (but on a large scale). So my question is this.. what do you recommend as a nice little venture? We want to try to at least break even (until we can get more land). We're trying to take into account the area we're in, and the small scale of land, as well as carcass quality, mothering, milk, easy of lambing etc.

So does anyone have any suggestions?

We've come up with a few breeds we were thinking of, but what do y'all think? Any to discredit or some new ones to consider?

*Clun Forest
*Border Leicester
*Cheviot
*Jacob
*Ryeland
*Zwartble
*Lleyn

Really looking forward to sharing and learning from everyone!

Cheers,
Jennifer

Gunnermark

• Joined Sep 2011
Re: Starting my own pedigree flock
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2014, 09:02:35 pm »
I am no expert and I am sure many will comment, I can only speak from my own experience.I have kept Jacobs in the past and found them to be great mothers and milky and I had no lambing issues! Currently have Lleyns and Poll Dorsets and the Lleyns are better mothers and no problems lambing but I am in the South West and what works here may not work up there with you.

shygirl

• Joined May 2013
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2014, 09:54:08 pm »
my vet keeps lleyns. so they must be ok  :eyelashes:

langfauld easycare

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2014, 10:31:58 pm »
 :wave: i have mostly easycares and easycare cross i do well with them. also have a few pedigree charollais and beltex and last few pedigree lleyns .also recently bought a flock of blackies in lamb to the charollais . alot depends on land ,end goal , available time etc