Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello from me  (Read 3291 times)

moorlandman

• Joined Aug 2009
Hello from me
« on: August 31, 2009, 09:39:42 pm »

Hi everyone,
I'm Terry and a couple of years ago I took early(ish) retirement from local government, I'm married with two grown daughters and five super grandkids.
I love gardens so I enrolled at college and gained an 'advanced certificate in garden design' followed by a 'Professional diploma in garden design' (got a distinction both times- sorry for boasting)
I've been lucky enough to have just acquired an allotment, but I'm a complete novice and a total divy in the world of growing veg; so no doubt I'll be looking at the forum regularly and probably asking for loads of advice from you experienced growers out there.

Looking forward to being involved with the group

Best wishes

Terry

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009
  • Nr St Andrews, Fife
  • "Blossom" one of my Pygmy Goats
Re: Hello from me
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2009, 09:43:09 pm »
Hi Terry and welcome. I am sure you will get loads of help, encouragement and guidance here, I couldn't grow a thing so good luck.

James

sandy

« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2009, 10:20:19 pm »
Hello, you only get one chance in life as far as we know, so, a change is as good as a new life!!!! I worked in Social Services, enjoyed it but absolutly love my life here now, although the down side is I miss my family.....Welcome!!!

marigold

• Joined Jul 2009
  • Kirriemuir Scotland
« Reply #3 on: August 31, 2009, 11:25:35 pm »
Hello,
and congratulations, I work in local govt and have to wait a bit longer before I can jump. So I have to squeeze in the veggies and chooks in the bits of time that are left.
Which as you will know are not long enough. Sounds like you'll have a great time on your allotment. Bet your neighbours there will have a bit of advice too. Its amazing how much you can talk about growing things and looking after things once you start.
Kirsty
kirsty