Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Tup harness  (Read 4436 times)

Garmoran

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Lochaber, Highland
Tup harness
« on: November 03, 2013, 05:01:37 pm »
I've never used raddle or harnesses before but decided to try equipping both tups with harnesses this year so that I can bring the ewes in close to their lambing dates. I used to just bring the whole flock in off the hill just before lambing was due to start, but now there are more than 40 ewes and if we have another spring like the last one they will find more to eat on the hill than on the croft.

Anyway 2 harnesses turned up in the post last week, with a selection of crayons and I decided to give the Suffolk Cross shearling a head's start, fitted the harness and turned him loose with half a dozen ewes that have a habit of straying off along the road and have been brought in early as a result.

Next morning I found him with a red and blue necklace and the crayon knocking against his front knees. Refitted the harness (it wasn't so easy to catch him this time) and made sure the girth strap was further back. This morning wasn't so bad as yesterday but the crayon was still hanging too loosely to be of use.

Fed them all in the pen, shut the gate and when they'd finished I refitted the harness as pictured below. Would some of you more knowledgeable folks like to cast your eye over it and tell me if it looks right or not? Any tips for fitting these harnesses so they stay in place?

Just thinking that if I'm going to have to catch them every day or two to adjust or refit the harnesses then I'd be as well using raddle instead.The other tup is going to object even more to being caught and handled on a daily basis and he weighs considerably more!

shep53

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Dumfries & Galloway
Re: Tup harness
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2013, 06:33:05 pm »