Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Can you use frozen pork to make a ham?  (Read 12116 times)

Margo

• Joined Aug 2009
Can you use frozen pork to make a ham?
« on: August 03, 2009, 11:21:48 am »
Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie so please be gentle with me  :) 

I have only produced my own ham once - last Christmas, and I was really pleased with the result.  Our pig has gone off to the abattoir today and I would really like to have another go at the Ham production bit, however, rather concerned that it's too hot outside to hang the ham in the garage, so thought I may freeze the joint and then defrost and brine at a later date. Does anyone know if this could be done or am I just being daft?   Any advise would be really appreciated.

Thank you  :)

HappyHippy

Re: Can you use frozen pork to make a ham?
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2009, 03:10:31 pm »
I believe that it's got to be fresh, freezing does something to the structure of the meat I think.

Margo

• Joined Aug 2009
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2009, 03:22:41 pm »
Ah, thank you Happy.  I had a terrible feeling that was the case.  Shame because I wanted to do it for Christmas again especially as she was our pig so I know what she had eaten etc.  Hey ho,  I guess we'll just have to have an early Crimbo  ;D

Thanks for your response.

Margo

BadgerFace

• Joined Jan 2009
  • Sussex
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2009, 03:27:06 pm »
I've made ham using frozen pork. Didn't have time on 'the day' so popped the leg in the freezer until I was ready. I used a molasses and beer cure & put the still frozen leg in the chilled cure. The ham tasted perfectly fine - very nice in fact and had that lovely black rind that you find on the Suffolk cured hams  :pig: :yum:

ETA - I've never air cured a frozen leg, no idea if that would be ok ?
Breeder of Pedigree Torddu Badger Face Welsh Mountain Sheep & Anglo Nubian Goats

kp

• Joined Mar 2009
  • near whitby noth yorkshire
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2009, 09:44:19 pm »