Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: ideas wanted for 2.5 acres  (Read 3073 times)

Mannimel

• Joined Jul 2010
ideas wanted for 2.5 acres
« on: August 06, 2013, 10:13:21 pm »
hi all, i have 2.5 acres of padock, which i have pigs on part of it and a pony for my kids. i am after ideas on how best to use the land for the table, or possible sale of produce. i was thinking on the lines of a chicken coop for free range eggs. and a poly tunnel, size undecided on, what size is recommended and what is best to grow and when.
i am new to the gardening side of things but hard work does not frighten me. i am 49 and have as much time as i need to do any work digging fencing ect.
just after some ideas
thanks all

john and helen

• Joined Mar 2013
  • Devon
  • WARNING,,,MAY SAY WHAT HE BELIEVES
    • Facebook
Re: ideas wanted for 2.5 acres
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2013, 10:21:39 pm »
orchard,,, chooks for eggs , chooks for meat,... small pond ..ducks for meat and eggs, Pigs ....turkey, quail, maybe a goat for milk, meat

Mannimel

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2013, 10:28:19 pm »
i have a pond that would work for a few ducks, not fond of goats unfortunately, pigs are doing well on growth for the meat side of things, turkeys are on the cards with xmas in view, need to secure a shed for them in next couple of days.
its more the veg, salad side of things i'm lost  at

RUSTYME

• Joined Oct 2009
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2013, 11:12:25 pm »
 Veg plot 30'x90' wili feed a family of 4 or 5 with all the basic veg they need . 2 of those and you are getting near the max of what you can do by hand , unless you use a rotovator . Any surplus veg could be sold and would cover the cost of seed etc and maybe some profit , but don't count on that .
Growing for selling can be a nightmare .
A few sheep would help keep the grass tidy , horses can make the ground a mess , and help keep the worm burden down too .