Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Chicken run advice needed  (Read 2149 times)

Jake

• Joined Mar 2013
Chicken run advice needed
« on: April 02, 2013, 10:25:09 am »
I am new to chickens and was wondering what type of wire I should use for my chicken run?

There seems to be lots of conflicting advice. For example, some say 16 gauge some say 19 gauge, and the hole size, 2" x 2", 1" x 1", 1/2" x 1".  So confusing!

goosepimple

• Joined May 2010
  • nr Lauder, Scottish Borders
Re: Chicken run advice needed
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2013, 11:35:55 am »
If you're planning on your girls having chickalumps then I would go for small guage as they can't stick their wee heads through and get strangled.  Also less chance of mice getting in.  We also put a bed of prickly gorse (but other pricklies would do) under the houses and around the perimeter of the runs (make sure no gaps!) as this stops the rats coming in.  Don't over-worry about what size, small means less gets in and out though  :D
registered soay, castlemilk moorit  and north ronaldsay sheep, pygmy goats, steinbacher geese, muscovy ducks, various hens, lots of visiting mallards, a naughty border collie, a puss and a couple of guinea pigs

HesterF

• Joined Jul 2012
  • Kent
  • HesterF
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2013, 09:07:25 pm »
Mine is 19 gauge chicken wire. I think in theory a fox could chew through it but tbh, he'd have to be completely desperate and I shut all the poultry up at night anyway. I went more for the approach that it should go high and underground. I can't remember the size of the holes but small - I'd guess 1.5 inch, maybe 1 inch. I do know that mice can get in though - I found two drowned in the duck bath one time - but I can't imagine rats can (unless they can squeeze around the door somehow).