Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pigs with no Tags  (Read 3906 times)

PPF

• Joined Jul 2012
Pigs with no Tags
« on: February 03, 2013, 05:24:45 pm »
Some of you will have seen my post previously...............I'm new to pig keeping.

My four pigs have arrived, but I noticed that only one has a tiny metal tag in it's ear.  Aren't they all supposed to have tags?  How do I stand as I have two to go to slaughter?

HappyHippy

Re: Pigs with no Tags
« Reply #1 on: February 03, 2013, 06:09:55 pm »
I'm not sure where you are PPF, but in Scotland pigs under a year old can move from farm to farm with a temporary mark (no need for tags) but if they're over a year old or have come via a market then they do need to be tagged. I think it's the same for England and Wales - someone will be along soon to confirm  ;)

When they go to slaughter they will need to have your herdmark on them - either with tag or tattoo, but wait til much closer to the time to do that otherwise they lose/rip out the tags.
HTH
Karen

oaklandspigs

• Joined Nov 2009
  • East Sussex
    • OaklandsPigs
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2013, 06:51:19 pm »
Yes, now the same set of rules in England Wales & Scotland (until devolution ;) )

Can move Live between holding under 1 year on temporary mark.

Must move to abattoir on the senders holding no. eother tag, tattoo or slapmark, but abattoirs can specify which and all hate tattoo's !

www.Oaklandspigs.co.uk
"Perfect Pigs" the complete guide to keeping pigs; One Day Pig Courses in South East;
Weaners for sale - Visit our site for details

thenovice

• Joined Oct 2011
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2013, 08:07:00 pm »
Go for the slapmark, its really simple and the pigs dont get too stressed. The guy from supplies for smallholders is really helpful. Good luck  :thumbsup:

ppd

• Joined Feb 2012
  • Sutherland
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2013, 08:12:00 pm »