Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Is it too late to get some Bees's and start a Hive  (Read 6191 times)

Flowers Farm

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Hampshire
Is it too late to get some Bees's and start a Hive
« on: August 23, 2012, 03:31:21 pm »
Just wondering if I should start now or wait until next year.

Bionic

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Talley, Carmarthenshire
Re: Is it too late to get some Bees's and start a Hive
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 04:28:19 pm »
You need the bees to be well establiished and build some stores before we get some colder weather so I wouldn't advise getting bees now.  Mind you I am a novice at it and someone more experienced might tell you differently.
Most bee clubs have courses over the winter when there isn't a lot going on so if you are a novice this would be a good way to keep the enthusiasm going and to meet like minded people.
Sally
Life is like a bowl of cherries, mostly yummy but some dodgy bits

Sudanpan

• Joined Jan 2009
  • West Cornwall
    • Movement is Life
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2012, 05:55:13 pm »

If you have not had bees before I would thoroughly recommend doing a beekeeping course and joining your local beekeepers assoc.

If you get a colony now you do run the risk of the colony not surviving the winter. You would need to be very confident that they had enough stores, the queen was not too old and they had been treated for varroa (or you would need to treat them) to give them the best chance. The plus point would be that you would then have a colony that should, theoretically, be ready to get going for next year and be in a position to give you a surplus of honey.