Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep/goats/land help!!  (Read 3239 times)

Draygor

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Soar, Brecon, Powys
Sheep/goats/land help!!
« on: August 25, 2012, 10:19:16 am »
Hi all,

Apologies in advance for sounding like a total newbie!  ???

I'm in need of a little guidance if someone can help me?

We've been on our smallholding now since March, and we have 2 goats (recently posted hoof issues in goats forum), and 3 sheep. The numbers are so low as we only have a 1 acre field (at the moment). All animals seem happy, healthy and integrated with each other very well. I don't intend breeding with the ewes until next year (they are yearlings at the moment)

My question is 2 fold

1) What medication/treatment regime should I follow for the sheep - now, before during and post lambing. What frequencies will they need worming, fly strike treatment etc. (The farmer I bought them off said he would advise, but I would prefer to be more self sufficient in the matter anyway)

2) There are areas of the field that I have electric fenced off to avoid the goats escaping. The grass beyond the fence is lush and green, whilst the main field where they are grazing is starting to look a little tired. I hoped the fact that so few animals grazing it meant it wouldn't be an issue. (The goats mainly forage in the hedgerows anyway). What/how can I treat the grass, and can I do it while the animals are in there?

Next year if we haven't got another field, I will split it in 2 and rotate them between.

I would be very grateful for any help in these matters.  :excited:

Tim
« Last Edit: August 25, 2012, 10:22:06 am by Draygor »

Bramblecot

• Joined Jul 2008
Re: Sheep/goats/land help!!
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2012, 10:50:17 am »
 :wave: Hi and welcome!  I am sure you will get lots of replies and help so this is just for starters with  :sheep:    :D .