Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Hello from a new member  (Read 2942 times)

Newsheep

• Joined Aug 2012
Hello from a new member
« on: August 08, 2012, 12:01:12 pm »
I just wanted to say hello  :wave: from a new member, I have only just found this website today whilst doing a google search for advice about flystrike.

I am fairly new to keeping sheep and have a small flock of Boreray which I started last September.   I am lucky to have 2 farmer friends who keep me right but it is really useful to know more and they are rather old fashioned (but lovely)

Being new I often lie awake worrying about foot rot, fly strike, worms, over feeding, under feeding etc so finding this website and forum is a godsend to me 

Chris H

• Joined Oct 2011
Re: Hello from a new member
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2012, 12:08:58 pm »
Hi Newsheep, where abouts are you? I am just getting stated with Boreray too! and also like you I worry about all the things that can happen, let's just try and enjoy them :excited:  as well as being aware of the pitfalls of course.
We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

Newsheep

• Joined Aug 2012
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2012, 12:18:26 pm »
Hi Chris
I live on the Northern Pennines on the Cumbria/Durham/North Yorks borders.   Wild enough winters for Boreray!

I have at present a tup, wether and 2 shearlings but hoping to get some more gimmer lambs very soon and next year perhaps lambs of my own.

Where are you based?

Chris H

• Joined Oct 2011
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2012, 12:20:39 pm »
I am on the Isle of Lewis (where the Boreray came from) I am on the look out for maybe some more animals as well as there fleece's.
What made you choose the breed?
We are all in the gutter, but some of us are looking at the stars.

in the hills

• Joined Feb 2012
« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2012, 12:22:03 pm »
Hi Newsheep, we have 7 Soay ewes and 9 lambs. We've had our ewes for 2 years and first lambing this season.