Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: sausage maker/machine  (Read 5359 times)

thestephens

• Joined Mar 2011
  • aberdeenshire
sausage maker/machine
« on: July 14, 2012, 04:15:05 pm »
any suggestions on which sausage maker/machine i should buy?
complete novice

HappyHippy

Re: sausage maker/machine
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2012, 05:23:55 pm »
I've got a wee mincer (from Northern Tools) with stuffer attachements - it's a good wee starter machine, but really sloooooooow once you've done it a couple of times or been spoiled by using a stuffer on it's own ;)
If you're making serious amounts of sausages (more than a couple of kilos) I'd say buy one of the big stuffers and just ask your butcher to mince all the pork and fat and bag them seperately for you - you just mix up the meat and stuff away til your heart's content  :thumbsup:
I think Northern Tool also had a special on their vertical stuffers not so long ago, but you can get them from Ebay, Weshenfelder and a host of other places too. Look out for ones with different sized nozzles too so that you can do a range of sausages and make sure it all comes apart for easy cleaning (oh and if you get the option of clamps for holding it to a table - take them !) Holding it in place while turning the handle is hellish  ::)
HTH
Karen  :wave:

MAK

• Joined Nov 2011
  • Middle ish of France
    • Cadeaux de La forge
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2012, 11:31:46 pm »
If you are mincing the meat and fat then you may want to think of getting a  range of disks ( not sure what they are called) so that you can mince course or fine. We also pass the meat and fat thru the course mincer then add the seasoning etc - mix with our hands then pass thru the course mincer again then straight into the skins.
If you are making salami or saucisson sec then you will need a course mincer.