Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Full crop  (Read 5448 times)

sheila

• Joined Apr 2008
  • Mablethorpe Lincolnshire
Full crop
« on: March 13, 2009, 10:52:04 am »
one of my hens is looking very raggy and her crop is almost trailing on the ground. She has been like this for about six days. Is she constipated? The others seem to be bullying her also. Any ideas?

lindy

• Joined Mar 2009
Re: Full crop
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2009, 01:27:39 pm »
There is a condition called sour crop. I have no personal experience of it  - I would suggest doing a search for more info.
If you think it is full with food I was advised to try giving a few drop of castor oil(prob any lubricant oil) and gently massaging the crop. Obviously it is very difficult to give proper adivce without seeing the hen.

sheila

• Joined Apr 2008
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2009, 03:42:46 pm »
After seeking advice I decided that my hen had "Sour Crop" so tried a number of things,none of which worked so I opted for surgery which my neighbour and I carried out in the garage. With a scalpel I cut a three inch slice into her crop. What we removed was remarkable! At least two pounds in weight of matted long strings of grass and other rubbish. We then tried to superglue the wound together but it wouldn't stick so I ended up stitching it up with purple sewing cotton. The hen seems chirpier then we have seen her for a long time although I have had to fashion a collar( something like you see dogs wearing when they come from the vets) to stop her pecking at the wound!
now 4 days on I am considering putting her back with the others. What do you think?

carl

• Joined Oct 2007
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2009, 03:48:19 pm »
well done, braver than me. i would wait a while before putting her back as she may still get picked on. I would like to see her wound fully healed so the other birds can't make it worse. birds can be awful once they taste blood.

jameslindsay

• Joined Feb 2009