Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: What's best pour-on for sheep?  (Read 26712 times)

Will.i.lamb

• Joined Apr 2012
What's best pour-on for sheep?
« on: April 24, 2012, 09:58:35 pm »
Hi

I'm new to the sheep game and was looking for a bit of advice on what is recommended as a preventative treatment for ticks, lice, blow fly etc.

There seems to be a bewildering range of treatments out there so i was hoping someone would be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

FiB

• Joined Sep 2011
  • Bala, North Wales
    • Facebook
Re: What's best pour-on for sheep?
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 10:05:34 pm »
Love the name!  Someone will tell us!  I have some Crovect on standby, but it's nasty stuff and dissapointingly you have to apply it in different ways for different outcomes - I was hoping to protect from blowfly and ticks and lice - but I think you have to choose!  Otherwise you'd overdose???? (one is a applied in a line on the skin down its spine, one is sprayed on wool at flystrike areas)  I am sure one of the wise ones will be along in a bit to help!

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland
    • The Accidental Smallholder
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 10:11:20 pm »
We give the ewes a dose of Coopers Spot on after lambing, that does lice, keds and something else but doesn't prevent blowfly strike although it can be used to treat strike.

We apply Crovect after shearing so that the shearer, wool handlers or crafters (dependin on wherethe fleece goes) aren't exposes to handling treated wool.

Herdygirl

• Joined Sep 2011
« Reply #3 on: April 24, 2012, 10:19:30 pm »