Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Converting a shed to a henhouse?  (Read 6726 times)

amcgwn

• Joined Apr 2012
Converting a shed to a henhouse?
« on: April 12, 2012, 02:49:36 pm »
Hi all,

I have an old garden shed here and I'd love to convert it into a henhouse to start keeping some laying hens. I'd like to start out with 4-6 hens but gradually build up to double digits, so I want to make as much use of the space in the shed as I can.

Ideally, I'm planning to have doors on 3 sides, and a moveable run to allow them more space and to change their environment (slightly!) every so often. How much room should I have for each chicken, and what kind of plants/herbs/things should I grow around the shed to liven up their environment and keep them busy and healthy? I'm a complete novice to this, so any plans for converting a shed would be excellent!

Thanks, A

chrismahon

• Joined Dec 2011
  • Gascony, France
Re: Converting a shed to a henhouse?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2012, 10:06:18 pm »
2 square feet per hen minimum and perches no higher than 18". 9" to 1' of perch length per hen. Nest boxes 1 per 4 hens with curtains on the front to keep eggs out of sight. Plenty of cross ventillation preferably with sliding covers for if it is very windy. Secure doors with locks as theft can be a problem in most areas, more so than foxes. Best have the shed set 6" off the ground to discourage rats, with a clear view under it. Best not to put food or water in the coop. If they will be kept in during the day you need 10 square feet per hen.

I have converted a 10' x 7' shed into two roosting coops and a small shed. Problem is the shed area gets filled with feather dust!

doganjo

• Joined Aug 2012
  • Clackmannanshire
  • Qui? Moi?
    • ABERDON GUNDOGS for work and show
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2012, 10:28:40 pm »