Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Room for a town planner on here?  (Read 6322 times)

asktheplanner

• Joined Aug 2011
Room for a town planner on here?
« on: August 02, 2011, 11:29:25 am »
Hi Everyone
A friend told my about this forum and I'm joining mainly out of professional interest.  I'm a town planner.  I know, I know, not the kind of person you want to be friends with, if some of your posts are to be believed  ;D I'm a nice planner, honest, and I work very hard to take the unnecessary pain out of the planning process.

I live in rural South Lanarkshire and spent many years working in a rural planning department.  As a planning consultant, my work is varied and I'm always looking for fresh ideas on the planning system.  I look forward to getting involved in discussions and will be more than happy to throw in some advice and dispel any planning myths.

arborexplora

• Joined Jul 2011
  • County Durham
Re: Room for a town planner on here?
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2011, 11:44:35 am »
Hello and welcome :)

I too am new to the forum but am becoming quickly addicted, there are many interesting posts.

You may be the very person to answer a thread I started last week.

http://www.accidentalsmallholder.net/forum/index.php?topic=17017.0

I work as an Arboricultural Consultant with most of my work being planning related, pre-development reports, implication assessment etc. The information for me is pretty clear on permitted development rights for dwellings however throw agricultural land in there and it gets all fuzzy :-\
On a smallholding or farm where does the dwelling stop and the agricultural land begin?

Dan

• The Accidental Smallholder
  • Administrator
  • Joined Oct 2007
  • Carnoustie, Angus
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 02, 2011, 11:50:21 am »
Hello and welcome from rainy Carnoustie.  :wave:

Definitely room for a tame and friendly planner on here, I'm sure there will be plenty of advice sought.  :D