Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: walking boots  (Read 7527 times)

mab

• Joined Mar 2009
  • carmarthenshire
walking boots
« on: May 16, 2011, 09:07:58 pm »
Hi all,

A while back I had a really good pair of Johnscliff walking boots that were comfortable, dry and lasted for years, despite long daily dog walks in all weathers. When they finally gave up I resolved to get exact replacements - only to find they didn't make them anymore  >:( .  So I got some other Johnscliff boots thinking they might be made to the same standard - but I was disappointed to find they had hollow heels which wore through in record time.

can anyone please recommend a make / type of boot that's hard-wearing & wearable in all weather? (but doesn't cost silly money).

Thx

mab

ellisr

• Joined Sep 2009
  • Wales
Re: walking boots
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2011, 09:26:34 pm »
I am a fan of hi tech I have had a few pairs for different things from light hiking shoes to waterproof snuggly comfy walking boots. I wear a pair of walking boots most days around the farm and they have not worn out in 10 years and I'll probably get another ten years out of them yet

little blue

• Joined Jun 2009
  • Derbyshire
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2011, 09:30:27 pm »
another Hi-Tech fan here!

warmer than my DMs, alternated them right through til about April, then just dockers, now into trainers all day, and wellies if its muddy to see to the animals.
In my job, you never know when a long walk or run through the fields might occur & I'm grateful for steel tos caps sometimes too!
Little Blue

ambriel

• Joined Jan 2011
  • Kinlochbervie, NW Sutherland, Scotland
  • Mad, bad, and dangerous to know!
    • Harbour Cottage
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2011, 10:48:15 pm »

They're not walking boots but I virtually live in my pair of Hoggs workboots. They're leather, waterproof, cleated sole, double stitched, toe protection, with good ankle support. Cost about forty of your earth pounds.