Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: 1.5 acre paddock in Lincolnshire, no idea how to sort it out..help!!?  (Read 4144 times)

mklanch

• Joined Mar 2021
hi all, im new here :)

we have just purchased a property with a 1.5 acre paddock. its the perfect property for us to continue/expand our smallholding.

the land hasn't been touched in many years and is like a sponge under feet. i thought someone in with flail mower would help sort it out but today the person that came refused to as he said its to much of a mess and could destroy his flail mower. his suggestion was i needed to put a bunch of sheep or goats in the field. i would do this however i have no experience, am not yet registered as a smallholding and also its not completely secure.

any suggestions on how i sort this out so i can start creating my smallholding?

landroverroy

• Joined Oct 2010
Re: 1.5 acre paddock in Lincolnshire, no idea how to sort it out..help!!?
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2021, 10:14:28 am »
Let someone else put some sheep or goats on while you decide on what you're doing.

Rules are made:
  for the guidance of wise men
  and the obedience of fools.

Fleecewife

• Joined May 2010
  • South Lanarkshire
    • ScotHebs
« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2021, 04:07:16 pm »
[member=211507]mklanch[/member]  I suggest you dig a few holes around the field to find out why it's spongy.  Is it a build up of moss, is it very wet and undrained?  You need to know what's under there before you try to put any grazers on.  Of course it also needs to be securely fenced and checked for toxic plants.
What do you do on the rest of your smallholding and what are your hopes to do with this new piece?