Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Charities for Smallholders  (Read 7391 times)

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
Charities for Smallholders
« on: March 25, 2014, 08:47:22 pm »
Hi Folks,

I've just been thumbing through the latest mailshot from Practical Action, who work to help folks in poorer parts of the world through simple technology development. For example, in areas of Bangladesh prone to monsoon flooding, they show locals how to build floating raft gardens (below). These mean that the crops don't get ruined when the water levels rise.

So, as an engineer, I love these guys. They use such simple concepts to great effect, and teach skills that can be used again and again, with resources people have at their disposal.

It got me wondering though, are there any smallholder type development charities out there?  I'm already aware of organisations like Send a Cow (I was so thrilled with Mrs Womble suggested buying me a pair of goats for my birthday, then she sent them to Africa on my behalf!  ;D ). However, are there others out there doing similar smallholdery development work that I should be aware of?  :thumbsup:
« Last Edit: March 25, 2014, 08:58:39 pm by Womble »
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

john and helen

• Joined Mar 2013
  • Devon
  • WARNING,,,MAY SAY WHAT HE BELIEVES
    • Facebook
Re: Charities for Smallholders
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2014, 09:24:41 pm »
we need a like button..great post womble  :thumbsup:

henchard

• Joined Dec 2010
  • Carmarthenshire
    • Two Retirees Start a New Life in Wales
    • Facebook
« Reply #2 on: March 25, 2014, 09:55:21 pm »
Providing microfinance through sites like www.kiva.org is one way.

You can choose which sectors and countries you want to lend to. I have made a number of loans to various people and co-operatives and have a number of loans on going.

Rosemary

• Joined Oct 2007
  • Barry, Angus, Scotland