Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Inconsistent laying fom Hens.  (Read 2930 times)

Andt

• Joined Sep 2010
Inconsistent laying fom Hens.
« on: September 14, 2010, 10:01:13 pm »
I currently have a mixed flock of 11 birds including a RIR cockerel, the other birds are blackrocks, welsummers and RIR, I have a RIR hen that is around 30 weeks old and was laying everyday, whereas my other RIR is around 2 and has not laid for several weeks, the Welsummers are around 30 weeks but have only laid once last week (first eggs they laid). I have 2 second lay blackrocks of which 1 lays almost every day but the olther is inconsitent and my last 4 are 19 week old blackrocks 1 of which started to lay on Sunday and has so far laid every day.
I have been keeping hens for about 6 months and have a pen around 10mtrs * 16mtrs where ther birds have good access to grass and dock leaves, I feed growers pellets, mixed corn regularly and lettuce once or twice a week, the 18 week Rocks are still on growers. I will be giving them all some strawberries tomorrow.
I mix in acv with their water for a week once a month and occasionally mix in probiotic yoghurt with their pellets, I have noticed a few lice and some red mites on the birds and in 1 coop recently and am treating this with powder in the bedding and sawdust I also have dusting powder that I have not yet put on the birds due to the weather being so bad.

Any tips on increasing the egg laying would be great as I am averaging only around 2 eggs a day, whereas a few weeks ago I was getting 4 or 5 a day. I can't seem to work out why they lay for a few days then stop?

CameronS

• Joined Aug 2009
  • North East Fife
Re: Inconsistent laying fom Hens.
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2010, 10:11:21 pm »
thing get upskittled when the weather is bad, out of 6 i get about 2/3 a day, and all but two of my girls are under a year, i suppose we are just going to have to get used to fewer eggs for a while.