Smallholders Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Complete newbie thinking of meat for freezer  (Read 4809 times)

craiglockwood

• Joined May 2009
  • South Wales
    • Website
Complete newbie thinking of meat for freezer
« on: November 14, 2010, 06:12:19 pm »
I have recently moved to a larger property (in South Wales) with a 3 to 4 acre paddock.   I intend on using the paddock for horses but am considering having sheep for my own consumption - sharing paddock with horses.  Looking through the forums it seems as if horses and sheep can live together quite happily.

Is this feasible?   Also, could I keep just 3 or 4 sheep on this land for fattening/slaughter.  Any advice/opinions greatly accepted....

faith0504

• Joined Aug 2010
  • Cairngorms
  • take it easy and chill
    • blaemuir cottage
Re: Complete newbie thinking of meat for freezer
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2010, 06:13:57 pm »
hi and welcome from moray  :wave:

piggy

• Joined Oct 2008
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2010, 06:53:44 pm »
Hi and welcome from Suffolk. :wave:

My sheep share with the horses no problem,although we have split our land in to 5 paddocks so that we can rotate and seperate when needed.

waterhouse

« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2010, 07:10:48 pm »
Yes and yes, depending on the horses.  You might want to fence so you have an area into which the only the sheep can go to escape a feisty horse having a hooley.

I'd split into several paddocks so you can rotate the grazing, particularly if the grass is too good and the horses are getting tubby.  We let the horses follow the sheep around when the grass is lush but reverse it when the grass is poor.

Have fun.

OhLaLa

• Joined Sep 2010
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2010, 07:18:39 pm »
Depends on the horse. I've seen posts where folks have said they live fine together, and also many where the poor sheep have suffered from horses kicking out.