Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Sheep Wormer  (Read 1372 times)

rach2808

• Joined Sep 2022
Sheep Wormer
« on: September 08, 2022, 06:51:46 pm »
Hi everyone.  I am new to keeping sheep.  I recently sent a FEC to the vet who advised the worm count was 850 and recommended a yellow or clear wormer.

I am so confused as to which brand to purchase and which drench gun to buy. Also if I buy a certain drench gun will that then only work with a certain wormer.

Can anyone point me in the direction of a decent wormer and drench gun . Also which suppliers people use would be useful.

I only have 4 ewes (at the moment)

Many Thanks :-)
« Last Edit: September 09, 2022, 11:59:12 am by Dan »

Bywaters

• Joined Apr 2016
Re: Sheep Wormer
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2022, 12:35:30 pm »
if you only have 4 ewes, then a 25ml syringe will be pence compared to a worming gun

You can wash out after use and then use again with a different wormer

There aren't, in my opinion, recommended wormers (by make) just get what ever your agi supplier has or, hopefully, buy a small amount form a local small holder / farmer

twizzel

• Joined Apr 2012
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2022, 12:43:56 pm »
https://www.scops.org.uk/workspace/pdfs/know-your-anthelmintic-groups_2.pdf
This is a very handy guide, you can pick a wormer then based on administration method and meat withdrawal. For clear I tend to use Molemec drench from mole valley. Yellow I use levacide lv drench. They are normally the cheapest in each group. Probably better to see if a local farmer has any you can use or go to local country store.

Richmond

• Joined Sep 2020
  • Norfolk
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2022, 01:19:17 pm »