Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: First time hatching and my eggs are overweight at day 18  (Read 2335 times)

Piggerswiggers

• Joined Jul 2015
First time hatching and my eggs are overweight at day 18
« on: April 05, 2017, 07:51:04 pm »
Evening all,
As the above says this is my first time hatching from my chickens. I quite enjoy the science bit so I've been weighing them regularly hoping to achieve the 13-15% weight reduction to ensure an adequately sized air cell. All the way along they've been on the heavy side and at day 18 most have only lost about 10% of their weight. My questions are - might I still have a successful hatch? best guess is fine unless someone has their crystal ball warmed up and ready to go. Is there anything I can or should be doing now to increase the size of the air cells?

Hoping some of you with your lovely experience can help me out
Cheers
Piggers

Marches Farmer

• Joined Dec 2012
  • Herefordshire
Re: First time hatching and my eggs are overweight at day 18
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 08:50:31 pm »
I put in eggs laid in clean shavings, leave them for 24 hours to warm through thoroughly, put the turner on and leave them alone for the next 18 days, remove the turner, add a little warm water to the trough and let them get on with it.  Every time you open the incubator you let in colder air and the humidity changes. 

Womble

• Joined Mar 2009
  • Stirlingshire, Central Scotland
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2017, 09:13:47 am »
Yes, at 18 days in, the biggest danger is changes to humidity as they start to get ready for hatching, before pipping internally and then externally.

As MF says, I'd just set the humidity for hatching, lock the incubator down and then let them get on with it. Good luck!
"All fungi are edible. Some fungi are only edible once." -Terry Pratchett

Eve

• Joined Jul 2010
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 09:26:58 am »
Have you candled them and are they alive?