Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Land Share Queries - Complete Beginner  (Read 1914 times)

Pottymouthbuddhist

• Joined Feb 2017
Land Share Queries - Complete Beginner
« on: February 23, 2017, 04:26:29 pm »
Hi Everyone,

I hope I’ve picked the most appropriate forum for this post - apologies if not.

I’m in the process of buying an acre of grazing pasture. I’d like to change the use of at least a part of the land to a land share type setup, with a view to vegetable growing, and probably keeping some poultry as well. Whatever space is left over will remain grass, although I’d like to plant a few deciduous trees as well. I’ll be entirely honest and say that whilst I really enjoy growing myself, I don’t have enough time to put in a huge amount of labour, so really I’m looking for someone to benefit from the space I can provide them, and to provide me with some produce in return - as yet I have no idea what sort of split would be reasonable. I haven’t really got much further than that so I’d be very interested in people’s advice and opinions on all sorts of subjects. including, but not limited to:

1. Change of use permission required or not
2. Insurance and disclaimers (realistically more like disclaimers)
3. How much of the area to dedicate to vegetables in order to provide plenty for say 6 people in total
4. What sort of produce split is typical in land share type agreements?
5. Whether I’d need to connect to the water supply, or just harvest rainwater?
6. Options for keeping the remaining grassed area under control (I don’t imagine there will be much grassed area left over but if there’s any low impact way to control it that would be great)
7. Poly tunnels and required permissions
8. Grants for tree planting?
9. How to go about finding appropriate people to share with, in terms of being countryside aware, knowledgeable etc etc.