Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: Pig fencing  (Read 5875 times)

Waula

• Joined May 2016
Pig fencing
« on: June 07, 2016, 08:29:40 pm »
Hi,
I took on the hand rearing of 5 gos/berkshire piglets as the sow died at farrowing (i'm a vet and somehow get sucked into these things!!!). They were only a few hours old when I got them but somehow they've all thrived and are now weaned at 8 weeks old and raring to get outside permanently. We are looking at fencing a part of a field adjacent to the house - it already has stock fence (post & rail with netting and a strand of barbed wire at the bottom) that is good condition but the field is 20 acres and we are looking at making an acre paddock for them. Longer term we are thinking keep the 3 girls for breeding so will need the space dividing again in the future.
Anyway, apologies for the background. What would you recommend for fencing? Post and rail with netting and barbed wire at the bottom? I'm not very keen on electric as we've got a 2 and a 4 yr old (children!) who are somewhat free range too (!)
It is a straight line that needs doing, flat field, down to pasture at the minute - cost wise, what would you think?
Thanks in advance!

Paula

gracy

• Joined Jun 2014
Re: Pig fencing
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2016, 08:07:14 am »