Agri Vehicles Insurance from Greenlands

Author Topic: pig feeding aid  (Read 1795 times)

tommiddleton

• Joined Sep 2014
pig feeding aid
« on: September 08, 2014, 10:37:17 am »
I have been keeping pigs for the last 5 years as a family activity and as I have to leave early to go to school and return late in the evening. I plan to design for my a level project a system to speed up the pig feeding process. I am sure many other people have this problem and it would be great if I could have a few opinions of what you feel would be a good idea to include in the design.
any response would be immensely helpful,
Tom

Fowgill Farm

• Joined Feb 2009
Re: pig feeding aid
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2014, 08:33:19 pm »
Probably gonna upset ya but depending how many pigs you have it should only take you half hour forty mins to doo your pigs you cant leave animal husbandry to a machine pigs need checking twice a day & if you cant get up a bit earlier then imo dont have them there are already quite a lot of auto feders on the market more suuted to the commercial guys but generally us smallholders prefer doing it ourselves
Mandy :pig:

Clansman

• Joined Jul 2013
  • Ayrshire
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2014, 08:46:27 pm »
I'm guessing you just skim read Tom's post and jumped to a conclusion Mandy.

If you read it properly you will see he makes no mention of using a machine to replace animal husbandry.

He's not looking to make some Wallace and Grommit contraption that rears pigs without any human input.

His project is to "design a system to speed up the feeding process." This would help him and the other members of the family who i guess also feed the pigs.

That could well be as simple as an automatic weighing system and /or an auger or belt system that drops the feed into the pigs feeder rather than doing it manually.

We have 22 pigs at the moment but I can't think of anything that would speed the process up for us other than maybe weighing it out.